Joining the Absolute Beginner Book Club: Preparation and First Reading Experience Expectations

This is a preliminary post to outline information to answer the following questions:

1. What amount of Japanese should a first-time reader know before joining the Absolute Beginner Book Club?
  2. How should they spend their time between voting for the next read and when it starts?
  3. What should a first-time reader expect when reading their first native material?

I hope that rather than repeatedly writing the same things for first-time readers joining the Absolute Beginner Book Club, I can link them to a single location that will help them prepare and set their expectations.

The initial post is a hodgepodge of things I’ve written for the clubs. Next, I can edit in material others have written.

If anyone’s written material they feel would benefit being added into this post, reply with a link to it and I’ll try to merge it in.

Once there’s a decent amount written here, I can request it be turned into a wiki to help with further contributions.

Also, suggestions for a better title are welcome!

Before the Club

After the Absolute Beginner Book Club typically votes on the next pick, there is a six to eight week delay before we begin reading it. (@MrGeneric, is there an exact number of weeks?) This allows time for those purchasing a physical copy. But if this will be your first time reading native material, you should also use this time to assess your readiness.

Japanese Writing Systems

Japanese Writing Systems

Reading native material means you will constantly be in contact with Japanese’s three “alphabets”.

Example of ひらがな, カタカナ, and 漢字

a31f3ae254f54cd0b837c0fd4ef8fc4abb378b15

ひらがな

Being able to read ひらがな without trouble is perhaps the biggest requirement. The majority of the text in native material picked for the Absolute Beginner Book Club will be in ひらがな or will include ひらがな readings.

Examples of ひらがな