Teasing Master Takagi-san 😝 ・ Volume 1

Welcome to the Teasing Master Takagi-san Book Club!

Summary

Middle school students Nishikata and Takagi sit next to each other in class. Takagi, who is in love with Nishikata, enjoys teasing him with embarrassing pranks and jokes. In response, Nishikata creates plans to get his revenge, but they always fail when she identifies his weaknesses and capitalizes on them.

Who should join

We’re reading this as the Absolute Beginner Book Club. This book club aims to help readers who are new to native Japanese content successfully read their first book. It helps if you have finished Genki 1, but don’t be put off if you haven’t yet. You might need to look up more vocab and grammar if you haven’t, but we try to help each other by compiling a shared vocab list and answering each other’s questions. So in short, everyone is most welcome to join!

How it all works

We create a new discussion thread for each chapter. In those threads we discuss everything from vocab and grammar to the characters and story. We try to help each other by contributing to the shared vocab list, by answering each other’s questions and by keeping each other motivated :muscle:

Where to buy

Physical: Amazon JPCD Japan
Digital: Amazon JPKoboBookwalker

We will start reading on 1 May, so if you want a physical copy it’s best to order it as soon as possible.

Schedule

Start date Chapter Page numbers Page count
1 May 1: 消しゴム 4-18 15
8 May 2: プール 20-34 15
15 May 3: 変顔 36-50 15
22 May 4: 筋トレ 52-66 15
29 May 5: 空き缶 69-84 16
5 June 6: 日直 86-100 15
12 June 7: 傘 102-116 15
19 June 8: 風邪 118-132 15
26 June 9: 本屋さん 134-148 15

Vocabulary

Please read the guidelines on the first page before adding any words.

Anki deck
Kitsune deck

Participants

Are you planning on reading with us?
  • Yes
  • Nope

0 voters

70 Likes

I actually have this book, so I’ll try to read along

6 Likes

Hello, 4th attempt at doing a book club!

14 Likes