玉藻の恋 ・ Tamamo no Koi 🦊 (Absolute Beginner Book Club) - starting June 15th

Welcome to the 玉藻の恋 ・ Tamamo no Koi book club! :fox_face:

This is the main thread for reading the manga 玉藻の恋 ・ Tamamo no Koi together with the Absolute Beginner Book Club. If you have a bit of experience with Japanese (say, finished with Genki 1, around JLPT N5), but are new to reading manga, this might be a good way to start!

We’ll be reading together according to a weekly schedule, ask and answer questions in weekly threads, and we’ll have a vocabulary sheet we’re building together to make this easier for everyone. We aim to keep the schedule slow enough so that beginners can follow along.

To find out more about what we are all about, feel free to visit the Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread!

And don’t worry at all if this is your first manga and you don’t know if you’re up to it yet. There’ll be plenty of people to help you. Don’t hold back your questions - other people who read the threads are usually thankful that you asked them first!

玉藻の恋 ・ Tamamo no Koi

63b7a99b-b974-4dd8-bdf0-a3330bedaea7

More info about the manga

• Nomination post (with more information and preview pictures to see if you like the looks and the difficulty)
  • Natively (a website that compares the difficulty of mangas and other books)
  • AniList
  • MyAnimeList

Where to buy

Physical (used only): Manga RepublicAmazon JP

Digital: Kindle KoboBOOK☆WALKER ebook japanhonto

Schedule & Discussion Thread Links

Week Start Date Chapter Pages No. of pages with text
Week 1 June 15 1 1-12 6
Week 2 June 22 1 13-20 8
Week 3 June 29 1 21-30 8
Week 4 July 6 2 31-42 11
Week 5 July 13 2 43-54 11
Week 6 July 20 3 55-66 11
Week 7 July 27 3 67-78 10
Week 8 August 3 4 79-100 18
Week 9 August 10 5 101-124 20
Week 10 August 17 Final 125-137 12
Week 11 August 24 Final + Omake 138-161 22
  • Pages are physical page numbers (they are printed on some pages). Ebook reader pages might be off by a bit.