Useful Add-ons for a beginner

Hi everybody, I am new to this platform and I was wondering which extensions would you suggest for a newbie like me. Thanks in advance for all the answers.

1 Like

Welcome!

This is one of my absolute favorite scripts.

6 Likes

Check chapter 7 of my Guide for Wanikani. I list a bunch of them:

1 Like

I wouldnā€™t recommend any scripts at all for the time being. Wk works fine as it is. A lot of people who started installing scripts ended up breaking the designed flow and resetting or quitting. Guides describe what worked for their authors, so itā€™s not guaranteed itā€™ll work for you. If you didnā€™t come up with an idea to change something, itā€™s probably not worth changing it. Iā€™d say it takes at least level10 and several months to actually get a feel for wk, because of how the load keeps increasing and other stuff. If at that point or later you feel like ajdusting your studies in a particular way, it might make sense to look for an extention to do that.

3 Likes

I disagree. The only scripts that can break the work flow are reorder scripts and override scripts, and only when abused. Theyā€™re intimidating because script abusers make ā€œShould I reset?ā€ posts, but the silent majority of responsible users who enhance their study with scripts donā€™t need to make ā€œHey guys, everythingā€™s great and I donā€™t need to reset!ā€ posts. This argument is the same as ā€œSome people took L. Ron Hubbardā€™s work a bit too seriously and were harmed by it, therefore books are dangerous and I wouldnā€™t recommend reading any.ā€

There are plenty of completely benign scripts with no potential for harm. Hereā€™s the ones I use. Iā€™ve deliberately omitted any that could even maybe be abused or encourage unhealthy gamification, because I agree that the ones you have in mind arenā€™t a great idea for everyone, and each user needs to decide for themselves if they can handle that.