An overdue level 60 post

I made it to level 60 about a month ago. I wanted to wait until I guru’d all my level 60 kanji before writing this post, and then I was procrastinating… But here it is.

Excluding level 1, which I apparently started a few months before really using WaniKani, it took me a little under two and a half years to reach level 60. Not nearly as fast as all those people finishing in a year, but this was the pace that worked for me. If you don’t read anything else from this post, I hope you take away that it’s okay to go at your own pace. As long as you’re consistent, you can finish too.

This post includes a lot of random stuff about my time before and during WaniKani. I wasn’t sure how much detail I’d get into, but before I knew it I had already written a ton. I put everything into collapsible sections, so you can easily skip the parts you don’t care about.

My Personal Experience

Why I Started Learning Japanese

The reasons I started learning Japanese are partially common and partially uncommon. I started watching a lot of anime in January 2015. I’ve always liked animation in general (Disney, Pixar, etc.), so it was long overdue that I started watching anime. At first I watched dubs, because I couldn’t be bothered reading subtitles. After several months though, I ran out of shows I wanted to watch that had dubs, so I “gave in” and started watching anime with subtitles. After a while I started to really like the sound of the language, so I started really considering learning Japanese.