Joining the level 60 club after 350 days

After 350 days, I am proud to announce that I have made it to this cool kids club, complete with the orange level badge on the forums. Now for this obligatory thread.

Saying the following is probably very cliched now, but I honestly did not believe I would have made it this far when I first started because I’ve tried numerous other resources for kanji learning that I just couldn’t stick with, and I think the main reason for that is because the kanji I was exposed to did not stick to me.

Here’s a little bit of my personal history and how I found WaniKani. Over 10 years ago, I started studying Japanese as in high school as the foreign language requirement. For those who don’t know, a year of a foreign language course is a common requirement of high schools in the US. I ended up loving Japanese and took it for all four years, even taking the AP (advance placement) course and taking the AP exam (equivalent to JLPT N3-N4, supposedly), scoring a 4 out of 5. After graduating from high school, I stopped formal and active studies in Japanese and consumed content passively, mainly from watching/listening to anime. While I was able to learn some common phrases and vocabulary here and there, it wasn’t enough that I may as well consider my growth with the Japanese language as non-existent.