Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

Welcome to 都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Lower Grade Reader) :jp:

We read this book as part of the Absolute Beginner Book Club between May and August 2022. You are still welcome to read along on your own, and hopefully you find the discussion threads and the vocab sheet we created helpful.

This book was only available as a physical book. You can try reading the introductory chapter in our prereading thread, where we broke down all the first chapter in detail. Link

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Summary

This book takes you on a tour of Japan, visiting each prefecture and telling a short story from that area. The book is set out with one page per prefecture. There are 47 stories in total. The top part of the page contains the story, and the bottom part some reading comprehension questions. This book is aimed at children in Grades 1-3 of primary school.

Who should join

We’re reading this as the Absolute Beginner Book Club. This book club aims to help readers who are new to native Japanese content successfully read their first book. It will be helpful if you have completed the first volume of a beginner Japanese textbook such as Genki 1 or Japanese for Busy People. That’s around the standard required to sit JLPT N5.

If you’re not at that level yet but interested in reading along you are still very welcome to join. You might need to look up more vocab and grammar, but we try to help each other by compiling a shared vocab list and answering each other’s questions.

How it works

We create a reading schedule, with a set number of pages to work through each week. Each week we create a new discussion thread for that week’s reading. In those threads we discuss everything from vocab and grammar to the characters and story. We try to help each other by contributing to the shared vocab list, by answering each other’s questions and by keeping each other motivated.