Week 7 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 7 - Pages 30-33

Week 6: Link
Week 8: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

1 Like

The relative lack of kanji is a bit of a problem in the Gifu passage. I had a lot of trouble parsing this sentence: やねの角度がきゅうなため、冬に雪がたくさんふっても、やねから雪がすべりおちて、つもりにくくなっています。 Best I can tell, it translates to something like “Because the roof’s angle is steep, even if a lot of snow falls in winter, it becomes difficult for snow to slip off the roof.”

What does つもり mean here? The way I originally learned it meant something like “plan to ~” and appears at the end of the sentence. Neither seems to be the case here.

3 Likes

積もる(つもる)= to pile up, to accumulate

3 Likes

That makes so much more sense, thanks! Kanji would’ve helped out so much there :sob:

1 Like