Week 9 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 9 - Pages 38-41

Week 8: Link
Week 10: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

1 Like

Useful article on Hyogo’s Teppo Water Cider. It’s helpful to know that cider in Japan is not a fermented apple drink but more like Sprite or 7up.

7 Likes
Osaka-prefecture translation

Osaka-prefecture
Comedy and takoyaki

Usually comprised of two people, the funny man and the straight man, that make the guests laugh by having funny conversation, the manzai. They occasionally use tools and such, performing pretty funny (or somewhat funny, see below) plays, the skits. These “comedys”, also popular on TV thrive (there we go, weekly さかん) especially in Osaka.
Osaka’s performance culture, kabuki* and bunraku**, going on since the olden days, might have had an influence on this.