Week 5 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 5 - Pages 22-25

Week 4: Link
Week 6: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

1 Like
Kanagawa-prefecture translation

Kanagawa-prefecture
The port city, Yokohama

Around the end of the Edo era, started trading goods with other countries on a wider scale. As one of the ports, ships loaded with goods went in and out of, Yokohama developed.
What do you think was the top products shipped from japan to foreign countries? The answer is raw silk thread. Raw silk thread is spun from the cocoons made by silkworms, it’s the thread silk is made from (lit.: it’s the silk’s thread). On the other side, the top item brought from foreign countries to Japan was textil made from cotton. After that came weapons made for battles bought from foreign countries.