Week 14 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 14 - Pages 58-61

Week 13: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

3 Likes

Well today, just as we’re at the end of reading 都道府県のはなし, I learned that the NHK for School website has videos on the prefectures of Japan made for elementary schoolers. The videos seem to be at the level of the book, but include a lot more details than could fit in the articles. There’s even a quiz at the end to test your knowledge on the prefectures.

Here’s the link to the NHK for School video on Kagoshima:

The video is 15 minutes long and talks about the 桜島の火山噴火 and especially サツマイモ. The video also mentions that the イモ are part of the diet used in raising 黒豚 (Berkshire pigs) which are another famous product of 鹿児島県.