Week 4 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 4 - Pages 18-21

Week 3: Link
Week 5: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

I spent all afternoon translating 2/3 of the Chiba pages. Man that was slow going! I decided to copy the text out and then write my translation underneath, and I haven’t actually written in Japanese in about 5 years.

Chiba’s most exciting feature is the airport huh? (I assume that’s not a spoiler because there’s an image of a plane). Chiba is actually really popular with surfers, if you want to hit the surf beaches in Japan, that’s where you go. If you go to Tokyo Game Show or Sumersonic Tokyo you’ll also be going to Chiba, because that’s where the big convention center is in Makuhari. Anyhoo…

There’s a few words I had to look up that were not on the spreadsheet so I added them (I hope I did that right!)