Week 10 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 10 - Pages 42-45

Week 9: Link
Week 11: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

1 Like

I looked up a bit more about Nanko plums.

Here’s my reference for the fish/shellfish in Lake Shinji. In particular I think Jisho is misleading for あまさぎ which it translates as an egret (type of bird). I think the text is actually referring to something often called ワカサギ in Japanese, which is a type of silvery fish.

Full lyrics for the Momotaro song - including a translation of the line quotes in our passage:

8 Likes

Thanks for the additional info, those were all sections I was having trouble with! I’m still a little unsure about these, but here are some attempts at translations:

Wakayama Prefecture:

Summary

和歌山県 ― うめ~、うめ
Wakayama Prefecture – Tasty plums

おにぎりのぐとしても人気のうめぼし。すっぱいですが、食べると元気が出てきますね。