Week 6 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

都道府県のおはなし 低学年 - Stories of the Japanese Prefectures :jp:

Week 6 - Pages 26-29

Week 5: Link
Week 7: Link

Want more information about this book? Stories of the Japanese Prefectures Home Thread
Want to read more books at this level? Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please ask questions, no matter how simple they may be! This is the Absolute Beginners Book Club, so if you have a question, chances are someone else has the same question and will be glad you asked.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number. Also do check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked. You can use the search function to search within the thread.
  • If you share you translation, please hide the translation so people don’t want to see it yet don’t see it accidentally. Click on the cog icon above the text entry box and select either “Blur Spoiler” or “Hide Details”.
Screen shot

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 22.18.56

Participation poll

• I’m reading along :+1:t3:
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet :durtle_megane:
  • I’m dropping this book :balloon:

0 voters

Ishikawa-prefecture translation

Ishikawa-prefecture
The bustling morning market

“Come and buy!” (lit.: “Please buy!”)
reverberate the lively yells. The Wajima morning market in the Ishikawa prefecture has existed for more than a thousand years. Besides the fresh fish caught in the nearby sea and the just harvested vegetables, lacquered industrial goods are manufactured from lacquer called “Wajima lacquer” are also sold.
As a “local kitchen”, the people living nearby have depended on the morning market for a long time, and now it’s being visited by many sightseeing tourists.

Questions:
❶ What are the industrial goods sold at the Wajima morning market? Fill in the blanks!
❷ Besides the locals, who else visits the Majima morning market?