Stories of the Japanese Prefectures - Prereading (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

Stories of the Japanese Prefectures - Prereading :jp:

We’re reading this book as part of the Absolute Beginner Book Club, starting May 14th 2022. If you want to know more about the plans to read this book, click here to go the home thread for Stories of the Japanese Prefectures.

What’s going on in the prereading thread?

In this prereading thread, we are going to read the introductory chapter, 都道府県って、なに?This is pages 4-5 of the book. We are going to translate each sentence line by line, and break down the grammar in each sentence.

For those who are new to reading a Japanese book this will give you a chance to see what you’ve got yourself into, and perhaps help to focus any grammar work you are doing between now and the main start date on May 14th.

If you are not sure whether to join us yet, this will give you a taste for the book, and how a bookclub works. I’m sharing photos of the first two pages of the book below. I hope everyone will agree this is fair use, and hopefully may encourage a few more people to buy the book itself and join in!

Who is this aimed at?

As I’ve mentioned elsewhere, this book club is not really aimed at those who are absolute beginners in learning Japanese. It is aimed at those who have a grasp of some basic Japanese grammar and vocabulary and are trying to read a native Japanese book for the first time. Ideally you will have completed most of a foundation level text book in Japanese (or equivalent). Some readers have joined at a lower level in the past and used the text as part of their learning. This approach requires quite a bit more effort but some have found this a productive and enjoyable way to learn Japanese!

61EUxyLK6fL.SX353_BO1,204,203,200

The Text

Click to view pages 4 -5

Resources