川柳 #1

レッスンを

(つい)()くした

不思議(ふしぎ)だね

川柳 #2

還暦(かんれき)

六十(ろくじゅう)()えて

ケーキどこ?

As usual, I cheated a bit, and I’ve probably made an error or three. As is also the norm, translations will be left to the readers of the daily senryu thread.

I’ll forgo my normal reticence and shyness (:roll_eyes:) and include a few thoughts below.

I’ve written much of this on the forums in various places. I still plan to participate in the forums pretty regularly. I doubt I’ll try to burn everything, but I do plan to continue my daily WK reviews for at least several more months (as long as I feel like I’m still learning).

My journey

It took me almost exactly three years. This was the perfect pace for me.

I’ll still have a fair number of daily reviews for a while yet:

It wasn’t hard, but persistence is the least common human virtue. Not one I’m particularly known for, either. I’m proud of the accomplishment, of course, but even more surprised by it.

I did pretty much all my reviews in a single session every day. I didn’t always get the number down to zero, and I did miss a day or two here and there. Until last November when some travel created a painful backlog for me, I don’t think I ever missed more than two days in a row (and that VERY rarely).

One session per day isn’t the most efficient way to get to the end, but it worked well for me. Coffee was my reward. :smile:

I did use a fair number of dashboard scripts, but never installed any reordering or redo scripts. Nothing wrong with those, but I never felt the need. (About the only time I’d think about the latter was when I surprised myself burning something that I wasn’t absolutely confident in.)

Like everyone, whether they admit it or not, I did “cheat” myself on occasion (mostly looking up rendaku!). I always felt bad about it, though. :smile:

Even though I started WK with a reasonably large vocabulary, I truly didn’t feel AT ALL comfortable reading until I was around level 45.