Userscripts Help

Hey guys, as a newbie, I have a question. So, I generally peruse the community in between my reviews, and obviously have noticed a lot of talk regarding userscripts. People have suggested them to me in some of my other posts, but I have looked at them and they honestly look really complicated. I also generally don’t have access to a computer (only at work, and work at a bank, so can’t install extensions etc), and only do WaniKani on my phone when not at work, so I’m unsure if the userscripts are even available for phones. What would you say to a newb like me about this? I get the feeling from most of the things I’ve read on here that userscripts are extremely important, but I’m not sure how/if I can use them. Please help!

The most used scripts seem to be the ones allowing you to cheat : skip vocab lessons, retry mistakes… Not only can you do WK without scripts but chances are it’s also better for you unless you really know what you’re doing.

Remember WK is just a crutch, learning is made during immersion.

3 Likes

I use an iPhone, so that wouldn’t work for me. Right now I’m not having issues, and am planning on starting Genki and Tae Kim sometime soon, so I’ll have all that going for me as well. I just don’t want to screw myself over.

While there are several scrips I use now, it wasn’t until level 20 or so that I actually installed some. There are users who’ve made it to the very end without ever using user scripts. So, don’t be discouraged if you can’t use scripts.

Depending on how you feel your studies are going, you might wanna complement WK with your own ways of tackling roadblocks (leeches, extra-study of those hard-to-remember-items), because some scripts help you with that. But, self-study can take many forms so just find something that works for you in your everyday life.

2 Likes

Thank you! Another question. What are leeches? I’ve seen that term thrown around WaniKani too.