Japanese typing .-

So since im studying with wanikani there is one thing that triggers me, every time i need to write an ん i have to tap it to times, but when im not careful enough, for example at writing(女)おんな i most times end up writing おんあ and because i don’t look at it before i press enter. I know this is not wanikani’s fault, its the Japanese writing system thats just stupid, but here is my suggestion: put a button somewhere on the screen after something is wrong where it undos the mistake.(ofc only when theres that ん thing) I know it could be helpful for future writing on pc but also confusing. Thanks
Or i don’t know maybe it could be detected that you wrote to n’s because if you write one n it would look like おな instead of おんあ

thanks

1 Like

There’s a script for that…

For example…

@J4n You’ll get used to typing Japanese eventually though.

1 Like

Yeah, as others have pointed out, there are a number of third-party scripts you can use which fixes the problem.

But it’s one of those things where the developer should really add the feature themselves. Not everyone uses forums and very few people are familiar with using scripts with their browsers.

The one I use is this:

It allows you to ignore incorrect answers. They won’t count as a pass or a fail, but instead be pushed back and come up again again in the same review (to be clear, without dropping SRS level, and still rising should you get to second attempt right, which you really should unless you have the memory of a goldfish).

I use this all the time. There are tons of times where I give a synonym or a phrase with the same meaning but it doesn’t get accepted. For example, earlier today I put “crazy for” for 夢中, but WK only has the answers “crazy about” and “mad about”. “Crazy for” has exactly the same connotation. There is no way I should be getting a fail and getting the item deranked, clogging up my queue with something I know the meaning of.