Is it weird how excited and nervous I am to have become a lifer?

Hellooooo!

So I just bit the bullet and handed over my money for a lifetime subscription. Since I’ve committed to this for the long haul, I figure I might as well go all in, participate in the community, and start learning all the WK-related vocab (Turtles? Durtles? Crabigator?) :sweat_smile: Plus, gotta make the most out of this purple badge!

I only started learning Japanese this year, after our second trip to Japan confirmed it’s a place we’d want to return to again and again. And since there was no travelling this year ( :sob:), I figured learning Japanese was travel-adjacent and might scratch that itch. (It worked!) I started with the free version of Duolingo, then signed up for a conversation class in the summer through a local Japanese language school. And then, in September, I registered for the school’s year-long beginner’s course. A friend introduced me to WaniKani about two months ago and this learning approach has really resonated with me. I finished Level 3 in early November, and read about this potential sale so figured I’d wait before committing to anything. I debated a LOT about shelling out more money for this “hobby,” but knew I’d regret it if I didn’t (or if I just did a monthly or annual). What can I say? I’m in love with this language.

Anyway, just wanted to say hi and introduce myself to whoever is out there and may read this. はじめまして よろしくおねがいします!:smile:

32 Likes

初めまして。ギャビンです。よろしくお願いします。

2012年に学校で日本語を勉強しましたけど、何も覚えませんでした。今年は10月から毎日ワニカニを勉強して、時々みんなの日本語を勉強します。

I can’t guarantee that the above is 100% spot on, but I think it’s close to being accurate. :sweat_smile:. Glad to see you’re having fun learning and have got that purple badge! I just got mine during the sale as well. :slight_smile: It’s cool that you’ve been to Japan! I’d love to travel there one day. :slight_smile: