I'm not renewing WaniKani

My account expires in a few days, and I wanted to say goodbye for the time being. There aren’t may posts about this topic, but the few I’ve read have helped me to see that everyone has very different reasons for not continuing the membership. I think I might be back next year, though, but I need a break because my learning is becoming unbalanced.

I started studying through BunPro a few months ago, and I’ve learned so much in such little time that doing reviews has started to become boring. If I focus too much on WK in order to get the most advancement out of my yearly membership, I don’t want it to make me lazy about grammar, since reading is really just a portion of learning the language; it doesn’t mean I can write, or express words, or even recall english to Japanese vocab. I can recognise a kanji in ways that I never thought I could, but I find now that when I want to say a word in Japanese I can’t remember even though I know I could read it. Or I have to imagine how it’s written so then I can read it in my mind…

The thing is, I am absolutely grateful to WK, this system is awesome; I’ve advanced more than ever in my Japanese, and want to come back in the future, but my goal really is to be able to speak in conversation and understand grammar sentences.

I’ve been twice to Japan and being able to read has made a great difference in my experience y and interactions.

After a year of daily studying I’ve advanced 19 levels, so paying two more yearly subscriptions is going to be less efficient than a lifetime subscription. I thought I’d advance faster, it would be great to know how fast all you advance in one year.

I’m going to focus on grammar and conversation for next year, and then probably come back to finish my 41 remaining levels. I might start using anki SRS in this period as well. Wish you all the best! Keep patient and constant, I know it’ll pay off.

神か禅

36 Likes

you’ll have to go your own way. maybe we’ll meet again later.