玉藻の恋 ・ Tamamo no Koi 🦊 Week 2

Week 2 June 22
Pages 13-20
Chapter 1
Next week Week 3
Previous Week Week 1
Home Thread 玉藻の恋 ・ Tamamo no Koi
Last frame of of this week's part (page 20)

firefox_2024-06-21 20.45.44.934

We’re reading this manga as part of the Absolute Beginner Book Club.

63b7a99b-b974-4dd8-bdf0-a3330bedaea7

Vocabulary Sheet

• Please read the guidelines on the first page before adding any words.
  • Pages are physical page numbers (they are printed on some pages). Ebook reader pages might be off by a bit.

Grammar Sheet

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: text here (that’s: [spoiler]text here[/spoiler]).
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked
  • Join the conversation — it’s fun!

The page numbers for ebook readers might be off by one or two. Some pages have physical page numbers on them, and you can use that to find out much off it is for you!

Participation Poll

• I’m reading along
  • I had already finished this part before the thread was posted
  • I’m planning to catch up later
  • I’m reading this book after the club has finished
0 voters
8 Likes

Hello! Very excited to be moving on to week 2!!
I had a question about page 17…
What does (俺 家のカギ)締め忘れてた? I’m assuming 締める (meaning to be strict with)+忘れる (to forget) so would it literally translate to Did I forget to be diligent about my house key?!; i.e. Did I leave my house key lying around?!

Also, I’m presuming the use of ~じゃ by 玉藻 is a cute version of ~だ that I assume we’ll be seeing a lot

3 Likes

I think the non-standard way of talking is throwing me off a little but I’ll do my best to work with it!
On page 19:

わらわに尽くさせてくりゃれ

I was just wondering about the use of させる and then trying to decipher the conjugation at the end! I think the end is くれて…?