What advice/resources would you give yourself at level 10?

I just finished level 10 and would love some more ways to learn or even some tips/tricks you’ve picked up.

1 Like

To start on one of the Core Anki decks and roll with that instead.

6 Likes

I should take my own advice, but…

I have a Satori Reader subscription - and I have linked it to WK so that the kanji that I ‘know’ will be shown without furigana.

Now what I need to do is discipline myself to ‘read every day’, instead of once a month (!).

5 Likes

Read.

And learn some grammar.

14 Likes

Torii SRS has top 10,000 words with audio and audio sentence

Kame Same, reverse of wanikani substantially helps recall.

Takoboto jisho. Has example sentences too, lets you know if common or not.

https://jpdb.io/ has anime, Visual novel, book, manga word lists and SRS as well… extremely useful. Example sentences on words too, I use in tandem with takaboto.

Anime, watch it and if you hear words, i usually pause, look up in the jisho, and save to favorites to study later. I check first if its in wani kani first, and how many levels away.

8 Likes

Learn some grammar, after finishing Genki I and Genki II (if you’re using those) start reading. Read all text in those textbooks (or the one of your choice, if any) and then dive into native content. Learn Natively is an awesome resource to find out if that manga/light novel is easy enough for a beginner.

The journey won’t be easy, but will set you up for success in the long run.

Good luck and have fun!

7 Likes

I answered this question for myself in this thread.

2 Likes

Although difficult to say in retrospect, I guess that would be, bite the bullet to read, and start mining for vocabularies, grammar, or even Kanji.

Nonetheless, not so few grammar points would also be required; but that would also need to be challenged in practical contexts.

6 Likes