DrDru’s highly opinionated Japanese learning path

I’ve been learning Japanese for about 5 years now and have finally decided writing down some reflexions on my journey. It takes the form of what would have been the best learning path for me given the resource currently available out there. It is close to the one I have followed with the stuff that have not worked left out.

It contains links to my site. One can consider it shameless promotion. An other way to see it is that I have created the resource I wish existed when I started. I guess it’s a little bit of both :slight_smile:

DrDru’s highly opinionated Japanese learning path

This learning path is not made for everyone. It’s made for people who enjoy reading, are happy to skip writing Japanese and enjoy learning with Comprehensible Input much more than Spaced Recognition Systems (SRS). It is organised such that you get multiple exposure to vocabulary in at least two different contexts.

This path is focused on the core steps. The more you do in addition the better : hiring a tutor, listening podcasts, using a textbook, learning Kanji with Wanikani…

All resources mentioned are free.

TLDR :

1. Learn Katakana and Hiragana
  2. Interact with the language using Lingodeer or Duolingo
  3. Read Sakubi
  4. Start reading Dr Dru’s Main Experiment
  5. Read as any Graded readers as you can
  6. Confront yourself to native content
  7. Use an SRS and premade N5 deck
  8. Start reading NH News web easy
  9. Read a more in-depth grammar book

1-A Learn Katakana : they’re a pain, as a new starter highly motivated you want to use your positive energy to learn them. Read this page about Katakana to understand they are used esssentially for loan words. Then go to H&M Japan and make an image search in your favourite search engine using the following keyword イタリアンレストランメニュー (Italian restaurant menu).
Start reading and realize how much you understand.

1-B Learn hiragana