Japanese Journey w/ Tofugu Guide

Hello everyone!
It’s really nice to meet everyone of this great community.

I started learning japanese around 2 weeks ago with my husband and we’ve been following the great “Learn Japanese” guide by Tofugu’s team.

We have been studying hiragana and katakana together everyday throughout this 2 weeks and now that we finished it, a question has popped out of our minds: What should we be doing until arriving at level 10 in WaniKani?

Since WaniKani is a personal thing, we were wondering if we would have to take a break of our late nights studying together until we reach the level 10 wanikani milestone. So what do you guys think we should do? :thinking:

8 Likes

I would study some easy grammar to have a sense of how Japanese sentences are put in place.

I would watch cure dolly channel / read Tae Kim.
Not trying to learn and remember, but to have a general idea of the language.

Also, welcome aboard. :slight_smile:

8 Likes

Thanks @whinette !!

We’ll definetely take a look on those things you recommended.

:smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

1 Like

Personally, I’d recommend practicing reading the new scripts you just learned. It takes a while until you get comfortable with them, it makes everything easier, and the only way to do it is by practice. For example, you could make little cards with them and see how fast you can lay out the hiragana/katakana tables, which has the additional benefit of teaching you the order (useful as it’s used to list things much in the same way the alphabet is used in English). Then, once you’ve become comfortable with recognising the characters, you can try writing out the tables and see how much you remember the other way.

Additionally, you could pick up a beginner app like Lingodeer and learn some basics of the language – vocabulary, sentence construction, etc.

2 Likes

I second the above. Vocab and sentence structure.