Remembering Vocab is really hard for me, remembering the Kanji really easy

I’m still on my trial with Wanikani and tried Anki as well. I’m trying to decide which tool to use and I do like Wanikani a lot especially with all the user scripts to improve the overall experience.

But I just can’t remember the Readings of the Vocabs, I keep forgetting them. I have no issue remembering the English meaning but I can’t remember the readings.

Is there any way to practice the vocabulary for reviews? I added the self study user script but that only allows you to add all of them at once instead of only the ones I’m studying currently.

I appreciate any hits because I don’t have that problem with Kanji, the mnemonics really make it easy but some vocab words dont seem to have them at level 1 vocabulary.

There are two things you can do.

The first one is to do some extra studying on the lesson summary page. When you are done with your lessons a summary page displays all the item you have learned. Go over the items one by one and recite aloud the readings and meanings. Then move the mouse over the item icon. This will make the correct anser show in a popup. This extra studying will help make your vocab items stick better.

The other thing you can do is to use the Item Inspector script. Disclosure: I am the author of Item Inspector.

This script will display the items in a table. By default it shows a leech table which is the items that gives you trouble in reviews. There is also a failed last review table for studying the items you have failed the last review in the past 24 hours.

You may study the items in two ways:

1. You recite the readings and meanings of the items aloud. Then you move the mouse ove the item to reveal the answers in a popup.
  2. You click on the Self-Study quiz button to start a quiz in Self Study quiz on the items in the table.