Newbie questions about Kanji with the same meaning

Hi everyone! I am getting confused with some of the Kanji that seem to mean the same thing, specifically 丸い and 円い, and on a lesser note 女の子 and 女子. How do you know which to use? Or are they interchangeable? This is my first time coming up on something like these, are they common?

1 Like

9 Likes

A lot of words are confusing like this. Usually I read the example sentence to see if it gives anymore context and if it doesn’t Google’s always a huge help.

In the case of 円い and 丸い the first can only refer to circular things while the second can refer to any round thing.

In the case of 女の子 and 女子 the first puts more stress on the child part while the later doesn’t. The later might be used to refer to both little girls and women, for example on a restroom sign. This one you can figure out if you look at the synonyms.

2 Likes

Ah, I guess it was right in front of my face the whole time. I guess I need to pay more attention! :disappointed_relieved:
Thanks for the help!

3 Likes

That makes sense. For some reason I never thought to google it. :woman_facepalming:
I will look into that next time I find things like this. Thanks!

1 Like

If you want, you can also tell yourself that 円 also ‘looks’ flat, like uh… I don’t know, half a window? (Thinking about yen coins as suggested is probably more intuitive though.) 丸 looks like a bunch of stuff (dough, perhaps?) scrunched up around that dot (、) in the middle.

Also, a bit of trivia that might be a comfort: if you grab a kanji dictionary/study book for Japanese primary school students, you’ll see a comparison between these two kanji too, so it’s not necessarily something natives just pick up from everyday usage either. :slight_smile:

3 Likes