10 Minute Biographies Chapter 10 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies Chapter Ten: Tomitaro Makino

Start Date: 13th March (JST)

Previous Chapter: Chapter 9
Next Chapter: Chapter 11
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule

Page turns at midnight JST.

Date Page Last Line of Page
Mar 13 137 Chapter title page
Mar 14 138 細長かった……かな。)
Mar 15 139 お母さんが なくなってしまいました。
Mar 16 140 かわりません。学校は、かべに
Mar 17 141 名前を きいたりするのです。
Mar 18 142 ことに おどろきました。 そして、
Mar 19 143 しらべきれていませんでした。
Mar 20 144 図かんを 作るんだ。」と、決心しました。
Mar 21 145 ひょう本に する じゅんびを します。
Mar 22 146 せいかと して すばらしいだけで なく、
Mar 23 147 ところまで、ていねいに かいてあります。
Mar 24 148 「ワルナスビ」……野さいの ナスの 花に
Mar 25 149 『牧野日本植物図鑑』を 作り上げました。
Mar 26 150 End of chapter

Resources

These spreadsheets are put together by the bookclub to help other readers. Feel free to contribute but do read the vocab sheet guidance on the first page before adding any words.

Discussion Guidelines

Summary
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally blur / hide this, as seeing the translation may be a spoiler for those who haven’t read that part yet and wanted to translate for themselves. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

4 Likes

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

2 Likes