10 Minute Biographies Chapter 11 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies Chapter Eleven: Momofuku Ando

Start Date: 27th March (JST)

Previous Chapter: Chapter 10
Next Chapter: Chapter 12
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule

Page turns at midnight JST.

Date Page Last Line of Page
Mar 27 151 Chapter title page
Mar 28 152 小さい ころから そうじに すいじと、
Mar 29 153 考える くせも つきました。
Mar 30 154 頭に うかんだのは、十年前に
Mar 31 155 ながい れつを 作っていたのでした。
Apr 1 156 長持ちする ラーメンを 作るのです。
Apr 2 157 長持ちさせる かんそうの やり方です。
Apr 3 158 そして、あげた めんに おゆを そそぐと、その
Apr 4 159 『チインラーメン』と 名づけられました。
Apr 5 160 しかし、百福は おどろいただけでは
Apr 6 161 『カップヌードル』でした。
Apr 7 162 3。食器の やくわり。だから、 なべも どんぶりも
Apr 8 163 この記事を 書きました。
Apr 9 164 End of chapter

Resources

These spreadsheets are put together by the bookclub to help other readers. Feel free to contribute but do read the vocab sheet guidance on the first page before adding any words.

Discussion Guidelines

Summary
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally blur / hide this, as seeing the translation may be a spoiler for those who haven’t read that part yet and wanted to translate for themselves. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

2 Likes

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

1 Like
title p. 151

安藤百福
Momofuku Ando
大発明!インスタントラーメン
Great Invention! Instant ramen

4 Likes