10 Minute Biographies Chapter 9 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies Chapter Nine: Sesshū Tōyō

Start Date: 27th February (JST)

Previous Chapter: Chapter 8
Next Chapter: Chapter 10
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule

Page turns at midnight JST.

Date Page Last Line of Page
Feb 27 123 Chapter title page
Feb 28 124 絵を かくのが 大好きで、
Mar 1 125 おしょうさんの いかりが はくはつ。
Mar 2 126 本どうに もどろと……。
Mar 3 127 ねずみが いるでは ありませんか。
Mar 4 128 雪舟が、ゆかに おちた 自分の
Mar 5 129 絵の 勉強をする ためです。
Mar 6 130 けれども、まん足できませんでした。
Mar 7 131 雪舟を のせた 船は、中国の ある みなとへ。
Mar 8 132 けしきの れんぞくでした。
Mar 9 133 学ぶ ことは なかったです。 (also asterisked footnote)
Mar 10 134 答えを、日本中を たびして 絵を
Mar 11 135 水ぼく画と なりました。
Mar 12 136 End of chapter

Resources

These spreadsheets are put together by the bookclub to help other readers. Feel free to contribute but do read the vocab sheet guidance on the first page before adding any words.

Discussion Guidelines

Summary
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally blur / hide this, as seeing the translation may be a spoiler for those who haven’t read that part yet and wanted to translate for themselves. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

1 Like

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

1 Like
title p. 123

雪舟
Sesshū
日本の水墨画を完成させた
He perfected Japanese ink painting

Sesshū’s paintings

6 Likes