しろくまカフェ: Week 9 Discussion (Chapters 17 and 18)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

しろくまカフェ home thread

Chapters 17 and 18

Start date: May 8th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 15 and 16
Next chapter: Chapters 19 and 20

Page numbers

b174615ec62c30e5548289f3be860f5e4a748deb

Vocabulary list

You can also check the page numbers for new and old versions here. If you have an old version, chapters 24-28 are in the second volume!

Translations/Grammar Breakdown

Expand for a nested list of links covering each panel

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :panda_face:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

4 Likes

One day, I’ll catch up to you guys… one day…

5 Likes

I can’t believe the bis version ruined the fragile continuity of しろくまカフェ by having a chapter with グリズリーさん before the chapter where パンダさん actually meets him for the first time!!

Was chapter 17 really hard for anyone else, or was it just me? I feel like I just had my false sense of confidence (from previous chapters and from other reading I’ve been doing lately) completely destroyed :wink: I’m going to do a re-read of it, and I’ll probably be posting some questions when I do, since I didn’t take notes on all the stuff I couldn’t figure out when I read through it a bit earlier.

On the other hand, chapter 18 was pretty easy, more like the previous handful of chapters.

5 Likes