しろくまカフェ: Week 3 Discussion (Chapters 5 and 6)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

しろくまカフェ home thread

Chapters 5 and 6

Start date: March 27th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 3 and 4
Next chapter: Chapters 7 and 8

Page numbers

83380a2212e8439b203ee9df9ce28b4b6ad406b61

Vocabulary list

You can also check the page numbers for new and old versions here. If you have an old version, chapters 24-28 are in the second volume!

Translations/Grammar Breakdown

Expand for a nested list of links covering each panel
Page 21
Page 22
Page 23
Page 24
Page 24, afterword
Page 25
Page 26
Page 27
Page 28

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :panda_face:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book
0 voters
11 Likes

Yay, I’m ahead of the curve this week! Thanks for making the thread again!

I even made my first contribution to the vocab spreadsheet, after painfully deciphering the scribbled 食物繊維, I figured I’d try to save others the trouble :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Can’t wait to discover the new adventures of this goofy crew: our waiter-polar-bear, our crazy-dancing-“punda”, our narcoleptic-surfer-penguin and our gardener-lady-kangaroo!

1 Like

Hah. I quite like the puns in chapter five.

Page 26, first panel - is パンダらけ a pun? パンダ + だらけ?

2 Likes

That’s how I interpreted it, too, though I’m not particularly confident in it. I’m pretty sure it’s a pun of some sort, at the very least.

1 Like