To Raise/Rise/Climb Context sentences make no sense

I’m still very new to learning Japanese and just want an explanation for the following confusion I’m having.

Currently learning the Raise/Rise/Climb Vocab but I’m getting annoyed as it appears that none of the context sentences given every use the word that they are supposed to show examples of. For example here are the To Rise Context Examples:

わたしがやねに上りましょう。
I can go up to the roof.

十かいまでかいだんを上った。
I climbed up stairs to the 10th floor.

サケが川を上っているのをみた。
I saw a salmon swimming upstream.

As you can see, none of them ever use 上る in a sentence but rather 上って . Although I’d love to understand why this is the case. I still don’t understand why you’d use these as examples especially without even explaining why they don’t actually have the exact word in them which defeats the whole purpose of showing them as examples…

5 Likes

Unfortunate reality is that dictionary forms of verbs are seldom used. In real life, verbs are conjugated, which is a matter of grammar, not kanji.
Japanese is tough. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

WaniKani doesn’t teach Japanese grammar. I think they imagine you’ll get the idea from the English translations that these are different forms of the same word.

In any case, you should still be able to read all of them, which is the purpose of WaniKani. The inflected portion doesn’t affect the reading.

3 Likes

It’s like having “climbed” or “climbing” in an example sentence for the word “climb” in some alternate universe where WK taught you English instead.

Would that make sense to you, because it seems perfectly fine to me, though I know it’s a bit confusing before you know the basics of the grammar.

EDIT: Considering WK will never teach you 上がって、上がった、上がれる、上がらせる、上がらない、上がらなかった、上がれない、上がらせない、上がります、上がりません etc etc etc it seems a bit limiting to me for it to only ever contain sample sentences with the dictionary form…

11 Likes

Specifically, the conjugations are:

上りましょう = polite-form volitional