The Lv60 Instrumentality Project

Rikaiwisdom's Level 60 Celebration Post

Today marks the end of a journey of 523 days (1 year and 5 months ish) since I started WaniKani back in October '19. It has been a heck of a ride, and a very warm refuge in this currently-upside-down world. Special thanks to the lovely people in the POLLs, but also to everyone that has contributed to make this community a positive place, whether you have interacted with me directly or not; you never know who you might have influenced with your words or advice. Thank you!

A little bit about my Japanese journey

I started learning Japanese in 2014 in a language school, where I spent three years. In that span, we went through Minna no Nihongo 1 and half of Minna no Nihongo 2. The school was very nice and the people I met were awesome. I had the chance to spend 10 days in Japan in 2016 with a couple of classmates and our teacher and I absolutely loved it. Ambitious of me, the fourth year I thought the pace had been rather slow and I decided to quit the school to start studying by myself. Initially the plan went very good, I finished the remaining half of Minna no Nihongo 2 and I bought Tobira to continue afterwards. And I did, but only for a little while. Not being in the amazing and positive environment that I was in before started growing on me, and I progressively started not doing much if at all. I tried starting Tobira a few times more over time, but I would never go past lesson 4. I had lost direction and therefore didn’t have much motivation to study on my own. The school was easy because you didn’t need to think about your programme, you just followed it. But having to constantly curate and decide what you need to study and when requires a much more diligent mindset.