*Interesting* recommended listening resources

I thought we could share some interesting listening resources with each other. Please don’t say NHK News / Easy News, Erin’s Challenge or JapanesePod101. I’m talking about native material you’ve come across that’s funny/awesome/interesting to listen to/watch. It can be videos as well.

You can write as a note how difficult you think the material is.

I’ll start! Lately I’ve been watching :star2: Usshii’s playthrough of Zelda: Breath of the Wild :star2:. He’s a very casual player, and makes a lot of funny mistakes and outbursts. He’s recorded 91x25 minutes of gameplay, so there’s plenty to watch. He speaks very casual Japanese, but pretty simple otherwise. Most kanji in the game has furigana. I’m not very good at listening comprehension, but I can catch quite a lot of what he says, since he talks pretty slowly. Even if you don’t understand all of the text, the game is easy to follow.

I also watch the Japanese TV show :star2: 世界の日本妻は見た :star2: a lot. The crew visits Japanese wives who live abroad. You see a lot of different cultures and homes (and fridges) – and they talk pretty slowly (and a bit more formally) as well! You can see a lot of episodes on youtube.

What’s your recommendation? :star_struck:

25 Likes

I think ニック&ぶらっくさむらいチャンネル are a riot. They’re really wild and obnoxious, and they think they’re so cool and I think it’s really funny.

I also watch Ask Japanese, I found that you can turn the subtitles off. The title is self explanatory, they just ask Japanese people what they think about a variety of topics.

Grandma’s recipes, a bunch of cute old Japanese women talking about food. There are subtitles on the video but they’re small and you can ignore them.

日本語の森 The teach and talk about Japanese grammar.