Absolute Beginner - Study Buddies

Hi Everyone,

I’m sure there are a lot of threads already open for this but difficult to sort through them. I started learning Japanese a few weeks ago and I’m on Level 2. Looking for other absolute newbies who want to practice together or keep each other motivated! :smiling_face:
I’ve also just started Genki 1 and I’m using JapanesePod 101 as well as a weekly lesson with a Tutor.

Happy to What’sapp or talk on whichever Forum! Study buddies unite!! :slight_smile:

8 Likes

I like to think of everyone here as a “study buddy.” But in terms of actually learning together, since everyone learns at their own pace, I believe it’s much better to focus on the journey yourself. If you do study with someone else, if someone gets ahead or falls behind, you may end up in a scenario where the other person compares themselves to the other and feels guilty for not being at the same level. That’s just my two cents

3 Likes

So true! Totally get that everyone moves at a different pace. Was more looking to connect with people at the same level so we have similar things to practice! Thanks for the advice :slight_smile:

ngl I still feel like an absolute beginner at times :sob:

3 Likes

Lol good to know the road ahead is very long hehe :smile:

1 Like

Hi @gabzhasdell,
I would love to have someone to study and practice with, I’m at level 5 and got Genki I but barely started. Besides WK I am doing the Genki I deck on jpdb.io and watching the Absolute Beginner grammar YT videos on Japanese Ammo with Misa. I hang at the jpdb.io discord, we could chat over there.

2 Likes

How is Genki 1? I have access to it but I haven’t really looked at it yet, I’ve looked a little bit at Tae Kim & CureDolly for grammar.

I also did a few lessons on iTalki but I felt that I was too much of a beginner and I worried that I wasn’t going to get the value for the money I was spending.

A study buddy does sound like a good idea for sure :slight_smile: .

2 Likes