Wrong answers are not remembered if I stop a review partway

If I have a longer review stack, like 60+, I will often only have time to do 30 or so before moving on. For the most part this works fine. However, if I stop when I have incorrectly answered on either the reading or meaning of a certain kanji/vocab, but not both, WaniKani will not remember this when I resume the review later.

For example: I have a vocab at Master that will go to Enlightened with the next full correct answer. I give an incorrect answer for the reading, but stop the review before ever entering the meaning. When I resume the review later, if I give correct answers for both reading and meaning, it will go to Enlightened, instead of going down to Guru like it would have if I had done the review all at once.

I’m not trying to game the system by doing this; it happens unintentionally all the time. Is this expected behavior?

2 Likes

How much later is later? I forget the timeframe, but I thought it ‘remembered’ where you were for a couple hours or so.
There is the ‘wrap up’ button, or whatever they call it, that you could utilize. When you’re running out of time, click that, and it cuts your queue down to 10 items.

3 Likes

You should be using the wrap up button (little clock icon) to finish up the last 10 reviews. Then you won’t have this problem.

3 Likes

Yes. If you wait long enough, that will happen. So this is not a bug.

1 Like

I believe you can replicate this loophole as such:

First, make sure that the next hour will have review cards added to your review deck and you have existing cards in review.

• Get either half of a card incorrect (reading or radical/kanji/vocabulary)
  • Close out the review session (Such as closing out the tab)
  • Wait for the next hour to occur. Those incoming review cards will get added to the deck.

WK will then refresh your review with those new cards. Any cards partially incorrect will get reset without the incorrect penalty.