WaniKanify for Firefox

NOTE: I won’t update this script in the future. Kaimera added some features to this script, though, which you can find here https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/5164-wanikanify-vocabularizer More details on page 3.

Hello,

I really like the WaniKanify app for Chrome, but unfortunately I much prefer to use Firefox, so it’s a bit annoying to switch between the two. So, I looked for a FF port of the app but didn’t find any, therefore I felt like making my own script.
It is a userscript - not an add-on. I’m still a user script development noob, so the user experience really  kind of sucks for now. I just wanted to see if this works at all for you guys.

Install link: https://greasyfork.org/scripts/4719-wanikanify

By default it will run on every website, but not until you choose "Run"i n the Greasemonkey settings menu. The vocabulary can be manually refreshed there as well (which should be done after unlocking new vocab). When using it for the first time, it will automatically ask you for you API key. You can modify which pages this script should run on in its GreaseMonkey settings.

The script’s word detection is currently pretty simple; it attempts to detect vocab such as “United States of America” before replacing, say, “State” by 洲, but it’s not perfect yet. Also, it attempts to conjugate verbs somewhat (no support for irregular verbs at all).

Here’s a screenshot

1 Like

Thanks, I will give this a try tomorrow.  I also prefer Firefox so I am excited about the work you have done on this!  One thing I would mention as a lesson learned from helping on WaniKanify is that you really should specify the API version in your call so that updates to the API don’t break your script.

Replace this:

http://www.wanikani.com/api/user/” + API_KEY + “/vocabulary/”
With this:
http://www.wanikani.com/api/v1.2/user/” + API_KEY + “/vocabulary/”

Thanks, you’re right! Updated.