Tobira Friends

こんばんは!

自己紹介をしましょうね。
Hello everyone - recently purchased Tobira, just starting level 20 WK.
Im self studying, after having formal classes a few years ago. I was hoping to find someone who would like to make their way through Tobira (or even a group), maybe a few pages to a chapter a week. I’m a medical doctor, so sometimes find it hard to study everyday, but try to find as many hours as I can.
皆さん、日本語を学んで、楽しみましょうね
よろしくお願いします

18 Likes

I did two-thirds of Tobira at university. Probably should finish the rest someday…

3 Likes

I totally would join you, but I am currently blasting through Genki (roughly a chapter a day as a refresher). I would definitely follow up with you when I get to Tobira.

3 Likes

Tobira is so dry. I couldn’t imagine doing a whole chapter a week (especially if you’re doing the exercises from the grammar exercise book too).

4 Likes

I thought most of the texts were pretty interesting… I didn’t even look at the exercises, though :sweat_smile:

5 Likes

I’m still working through Genki 2 right now, but I plan on working through Tobira at some point after I finish. I would join you after I was done with Genki, but I’ll be working towards the N4 after I finish. Gotta get gud at that listen and reading.

2 Likes

I read the first two without problem, and they were somewhat interesting. But the exercises are dreadful…

3 Likes

I’m so down to go over Tobira too. I’ve been postponing doing it forever now… read some chapters here and there, but never fully went through it. I’m quite busy with work as well, but a few pages to a chapter a week seems like something reasonable/achievable for me too!

2 Likes

People do exercises? I thought it was just extra paper to make textbooks longer.

15 Likes

I’ll be happy to join, but it might be a few weeks before I can start. I’ve been on a break from studying, and it will probably be best to review some grammar before diving in.

1 Like