When to start tobira?

As the title suggests I’m not sure of when to start the tobira textbook. I’ve been studying for about 5 months and I recently completed genki 1+2 (including workbooks) and kanzen n4 grammar but I’ve taken a peek at the tobira textbook I’ve bough and the format is very different from these other textbooks.

I’m somewhat unsure of when to start to use it, as there seem to be alot of unknown vocab present so I’m not sure how I should go through the textbook. I was thinking of waiting until I have reached a higher level in wanikani (around 32 ish) so i know most of the n3 kanji meaning I would be able to focus more on the grammar but I’m unsure if this is just my laziness making me want to procrastinate for longer.
Do you think I should just start it now and if so how did you go through the books at a decent pace?
Thanks in advance

I think you should just go for it! At least try chapter one and see how it goes. I started on Tobira straight after Genki I+II and I started Wanikani maybe 2 weeks before beginning on Tobira and I haven’t had too many issues. I still feel a bit behind on kanji as I’m on chapter 9 now and only level 22 on Wanikani, but you won’t have that issue.

I think many people have their own ways of working through it, I just kind of adjusted a bit until I found something that I felt worked well for me. I like to try my hand at the main text, then read the grammar points and do the workbooks before going thoroughly through the readings for the whole chapter.

1 Like