The kanji 言

Hey everyone!

I recently started studying kanji and I came across the kanji 言. From my Japanese class I only know it written with a small dash at the top but now I keep seeing it with a straight line at the top.

My question is: are those 2 different kanji?

Thanks for your answers :blush:

1 Like

It’s the same kanji, just different fonts. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

This is not completely accurate. The one Jasii97 is seeing in his class is the written version. So, when practicing writing they should write it like they’ve seen in their class.

See this thread: Handwritten vs Typed Japanese Confusion

It’s still the case that they are different fonts. You’re right that the one with the small dash is used when handwriting though.

Does the wiktionary page actually say anything useful in regards to OP’s question? I didn’t see anything in the Japanese section explaining the different look depending on font or mentioning anything about handwriting.

By ‘small dash’, are we referring to the little dot that appears at the top in most computer fonts i.e. something like 、 , as in 言 with a Chinese font? Or are we referring to a little horizontal line? (In which case I don’t see the difference between the two at all.)

In both traditional typesetting and modern usage, the word “font” refers to the delivery mechanism of the typeface design. In traditional typesetting, the font would be made from metal or wood. Today, the font is a digital file.

From my understanding of this quote a font is only related the style of letters or characters when used with some sort of analog or digital typewriter. I.e not when written by hand. I’m assuming that OP is referring to their teachers’ writing, and thus distinguishing the different styles as “fonts” would be incorrect.

EDIT: Source

This is what is being referred to: