Anyone know why the written form is different for 令?

I’m studying kanji in Level 11 and have learned 令 (order).

I use the stroke order script and noticed that the written form for 令 (order) is different than the typed format. At first, I thought it might be an error, but it’s also this way in jisho: 令 #kanji - Jisho.org

I’ve noticed that the written form is sometimes slightly different than the typed format, but this seems rather different.

Does anyone know why this?

It’s likely just a design choice the font designer made.
The design still follows stroke order, so it still “looks like” the character.

If you had to rationalize it beyond that, it may be that way to help separate it from other similar looking kanji, like 今. But, truthfully, I really think it was just a design choice.

It’s print font vs handwriting, similar to how in serif fonts g is written with 2 circles. Print vs handwritten さ and そ are the same in that the handwritten forms are slightly different than the print versions.

5 Likes

Not a design choice, handwriting and computer fonts have their differences.

Well known examples are: さ, き, り, 心 but there are obviously a lot more.

I was really confused by this post, since! this is what I see
Screenshot from 2021-03-08 21-03-33

I guess the handwritten form is like the chinese character… (firefox struggles with japanese fonts for some reason)

Edit: interestingly top hit on youtube writes it the same as the computer font

2 Likes

I honestly thought this was about 今 before I went and checked.

This can be due to differences in what fonts you have on your computer, plus whether or not the language is specified on the web page, etc. When you start to get multilingual, things can get weird pretty quickly.

Here’s a vaguely related post I made a while back on a font issue.

2 Likes