Reviews/Lessons out of order...confused :(

Okay, I’m kinda new to this still so I know this might sound dumb…but basically, I’ve been having a LOT of trouble with reviews and lessons as I progress in level. In the beginning, I learned the radicals, then kanji, then vocab, and it always made sense because the kanji built on the radicals I already had down pat, and then vocab built on the kanji which made it pretty easy to learn. Somewhere along the way, I got to do lessons in these massive batches, or didn’t get to them for days at a time, and it turned into a mess.

Now, sometimes I am introduced to Kanji when I’m still struggling to memorize the radicals from the same level, or sometimes I am introduced to vocab using Kanji I haven’t even learned yet. Even worse, sometimes I think I am learning some of the vocab/kanji from a lesson even though I haven’t finished the one I’m already on. Is this really possible? Am I just so confused I’m misunderstanding something?

I do understand that of course the lessons need to be random - it’s not as if I want to memorize the order of the cards or anything, because that wouldn’t really help me at all. I want to memorize all the cards so they can be presented in any order, but it’s kind of hard to do that when I’m being show cards including kanji or radicals I haven’t yet committed to memory. As a result, I’m getting really low percentages (60% or under a lot of the times) which is really discouraging.

I know there are reorder scripts but I’m not really sure which one I need, and I’m nervous about trying them because I heard they can mess up your whole thing if used improperly. If anyone could offer advice without being too critical, I’d appreciate it.

Can you give an example?