Reading material for an absolute beginner

Can someone suggest some books to read for an absolute beginner? My aim is to build up my own anki vocabulary deck through reading.

4 Likes

Graded readers are probably your best bet, as well as anything found in the :

They have vocab sheets, so it makes it quite easy to make an anki deck.

But what might also interest you is a site like https://jpdb.io/ where you can just choose a book you’re interested in (they don’t have a full selection, but they have A LOT of books these days), and the decks are pre-built for you.

4 Likes

You could check out the Absolute Beginners Book Club // Now reading: Hunter × Hunter . You can read previous books or join their next pick. For the previous books, you can access all discussions, questions and answers. For some books people even translated large chunks so you can compare your understanding with what they came up with.

3 Likes

Also there are some suggestions here for things online

5 Likes

Crystal Hunters is a Japanese language learning manga aimed at absolute beginners. It’s even easier than graded readers. They have a Japanese (the easier version which is the one you want) and the Natural Japanese (harder version). The manga you can get on amazon kindle and on their website under free stuff they have guides that go along with each volume. The guides show every single vocabulary they use and then has grammar explanations. Read the guide first then read the manga.

It was very motivating for me as I was able to read the entire manga in Japanese. Currently they have 5 volumes and I’ve read all 5 of them too. You can choose to make an anki deck if you wish, but I never needed to make a vocabulary deck for Crystal Hunters.

2 Likes

Satori reader.

The most absolute basic JP reading material I know of would be Level 0 Graded Readers, which have pretty simple sentence structure and use a lot of pictures. Think children’s books, but written for JP learners instead of natives.