10分で読める物語 二年生 Story 3 (さるじぞう)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

10分で読める物語 二年生 Home thread

Welcome to the thread for the second Story named さるじぞう from the book 10分で読める物語 二年生!

Start Date: 16.09.2019

Previous thread: 10分で読める物語 二年生 Story 2 (半日村)

Next thread: 10分で読める物語 二年生 Stories 4 (お月よ) & 5 (パンのかけらと小さなあくま)

Reading schedule:

• 16.09.2019 Page 37
  • 17.09.2019 Page 38
  • 18.09.2019 Page 39
  • 19.09.2019 Page 41

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events on the current page and any content in future pages.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m skipping this book
  • I’m planning to catch up later
  • I will join a future story

0 voters

Psst - the OP still has last story’s blurb and start date.

But getting started, then:

さるじぞう

The Monkey Jizo

むかし あったと。

Once upon a time.

となりの 村の となり村に、じっさまと ばっさまが なかよく くらして とったそうな。

Next to the neighbouring village, there lived an old man and an old woman who were very close.

Was the village 半日村? :stuck_out_tongue:

ある とき、じっさまが うら山へ はたけの 草とりに 出かけた。

One day, the old man went out to the mountain behind his house to weed his field.

ばっさまは、そばの こなを こねて、うまそうな そばもちを こしらえ、こんがりと やいて じっさまに もたせた。

The old woman kneaded some soba flour, made some delicious-looking soba mochi, cooked them well, and gave them to the old man.

7 Likes

I hear they go by 一日村 these days :sun_with_face: :laughing:

4 Likes

じっさまが そばもちを つつんだ ふろしきを はたけの わきの きの えだに かけて,

The old man took the sobamochi wrapped in furoshiki (wrapping cloth) and hung it on a tree near the field,

草とりを やっておると、

and continued weeding

うら山の さるどもが わいわいわいわいと やって きおってそ ばもちを 見つけ、

Ura Mountain Monkeys came over very noisily and found the sobamochi