Privileged: Quarantine is making me learn Japanese faster

I haven’t seen one of these, if there are I’m so sorry. So, it’s pretty straight forward, even though I have my uni classes online, there’s so much time! I find myself doing every single review on time. And with the 2020 spring Japanese learning resources from Tofugu (thank you so so much), I’m also hearing, reading Japanese 24/7!
I do know that this is because I’m really privileged, I’m curious about you guys, has your Japanese learning path been helped by covid19 or otherwise?
Sorry about my English! not the best.
Also, if you have some more resources you could share, it would be great.

12 Likes

I’m a high school student so online classes take up about 2 or so hours of my day instead of the normal 9 or so. I have a lot more free time due to corona and most of it I spend on wanikani.

6 Likes

I’m also doing better with more time to work on Japanese. I’m able to do my reviews when they show up. Even better, I now have time to get going on grammar, and have learned a lot of grammar.

3 Likes

I’ve had a lot of extra free time as well. Going back to work in two days though, so we will see how things change.

4 Likes

This is the second time in my life I can learn two languages in parallel. Now I’ve time to practice grammar I hate the most. :upside_down_face:

4 Likes

What other language are you learning?

2 Likes

Taiwanese Hokkien.

3 Likes

Oh wow another language that uses the character system. Good luck! :smile:

3 Likes

I felt less motivated in the beginning of the pandemic because before I used to do a lot of reviews sitting in the train… Sitting at home with all this time kind of shocked me at first. Then I got more used to it and actually started focusing more on grammar and reading! So, back on track :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Good luck! Be careful :heartbeat:

1 Like

hahaha, wow! I couldn’t keep up with two, that’s great! teach us some Taiwanese sometime!