Did COVID-19 propel you to begin studying Japanese?

So, I think we can all agree that 2020 was a pretty terrible year for just about everyone, and with good reason. The entire world has been changed completely by the COVID-19 pandemic and these days we all spend most of our time pretty isolated from each other.

I have to say that I feel grateful for all of things that I have. I have no major health problems. To date, I have avoided contracting the virus and I have not lost any family members. Not everyone can say that, so I consider myself lucky and I remind myself every day how lucky I actually am to be in my position.

2020 has taken a toll on my mental health. I have a persistent eyelid twitch which I can only assume is due to anxiety and stress, I havenā€™t been able to properly work since March, and I havenā€™t given my parents a proper hug in nearly a year, but as I said before, if thatā€™s all that I am struggling with, I am a lucky guy.

I started studying Japanese in September and I donā€™t think that would have ever crossed my mind if I wasnā€™t afforded the time in my previously busy life to reflect on my own personal goals. As soon as I began my study on DuoLingo (Yikes, I know. I do have to say that it was good for learning Hiragana and Katakana though) I was hooked on the complexity of the grammar and the fact that it was so different from English. It has been about three months since I started studying, and a little over two months since I began using WaniKani and I can honestly say that studying Japanese has helped me cope with the intense anxiety brought on by the times we are currently living in.

I am curious to know if studying has helped you during this time or if the pandemic helped you take the plunge into language learning that you were putting off for so long. I am interested to hear from the WaniKani community. :slight_smile:

48 Likes