Monolingual cards. Anki experts, help!

Hello everyone.

I’ve had the idea of transforming my current Anki deck into monolingual for quite some time. It didn’t made much sense when I wasn’t reading much, as my understanding was low whether it was books or dictionary entries.

Some of the dictionaries I have in quollibri are somewhat simpler than the rest, and I get a lot of definitions already, so I will like to give it a shot at removing english gradually from my cards.

So with that in mind I would like to ask for some advice on to how to change my current cards into J-J cards

Currently they look like this on the back side.

There’s the additional field for J-Definition. So I would like that only If that card has something in that field… then It shows me that jp definition instead of the english definition (and maybe hide the translated subs as well) :sweat_smile:

Does someone knows how it can be done?

Here is a sample of the card style I’m using.

I’m not an Anki expert, but it seems you need this:
https://apps.ankiweb.net/docs/manual.html#conditional-replacement

1 Like

:joy::joy: … I was surprised to see so many Anki related answers redirected to reading the manual in the past…

But the answer shure was there :grinning:

I will read it carefully and see how it goes, as most of my current card.style it’s copy/pasted from another card-styles, not necessarily understanding much of whats really happening, so hopefully I won’t screw it.

Thanks!!

If you change the backside of your card to this, it should hide the vocab translation only if there is something in the J-Definition field.

<div class='jpsentence furigana'>{{furigana:Expression}}
<br/>
{{^J-Definition}}<span class=vocabkana>{{Vocab-Kana}} </span> 
<span class=vocabtrans> → {{Vocab-Translation}} </span>{{/J-Definition}}
{{#J-Definition}}<div class=jdef>{{J-Definition}}</div>{{/J-Definition}}