Meepity's Study Log :)

I’m making this study log so I can keep myself motivated and to be consistent. I think having a public log will force me to stay on track with my goals.

About Me and My Background

I am a university student that is majoring in Japanese. However, I am a bit dissatisfied with some of the coursework, and the grammar covered. The textbooks used at my university don’t go past Genki II, and after that, textbooks and grammar are not really covered in classes. I have been studying Japanese since late 2020.

Right now I would place myself around mid-N3, however, I have never been able to take the JLPT due to it’s test date conflicting with my University’s finals week. Although, I do plan to take the N2 in December.

I studied in a smaller city in Japan last summer (2023), and I will be studying in Kyoto starting this coming March. I would love to feel more confident while traveling Japan, and I know leveling up my Japanese would help (although it won’t be the full solution, the metros are a beast of their own. . . )

Goals
1.) Pass the JLPT N1
2.) Complete WaniKani
3.) Be able to have a conversation with a native speaker about a complex topic (thoughts on education systems, sustainability, linguistics, etc.)
4.) Be able to read Japanese Books, Manga, and Magazines with ease.
5.) Live in Japan for a couple years

Resources

• Genki I and II (completed about a year ago)
  • Quartet I and II (still working through them)
  • N3 Soumatome (Vocab, listening, reading, and gramamar)
  • Various youth books and manga that I bought while in Japan (e.x なぜ?どうして?3年生、ドラえもん、よつばと!)
    -WaniKani
    -Italki
    -Anki
    -Knowt
    -Japanese-speaking friends
    -日本語で働く! (a business Japanese textbook)
20 Likes

Welcome to the study log crew! :tada: