Another Person's Study Log

Thank you to @marcusp for the inspiration and formatting for this log. :slight_smile:

About Me/This Log

Hello everyone my name is Ethan and I’m 22 years old at the time of posting this. Right now I am probably a little above N5 level. I’ve always been very interested in Japan and Japanese media which is why I decided to learn the language.

My ultimate goals are:

• To be able to read native Japanese manga/books
  • Fluently converse with native speakers
  • Fully comprehend Japanese audio

After I accomplish these, I hope to possibly start a career and live in Japan. My current goal is to become a translator or interpreter. I’ve been studying Japanese seriously for about 4 months now. Since January, I’ve been living in Fukuoka in order to attend Japanese classes for 1 year. After seeing some other study logs from other users on this forum, I decided to create my own in order to inspire myself and others on this awesome journey. I will be posting on here at least three-four times a week to update everyone on my progress. Without any further ado, let’s jump into my current short-term plan that will act as the steps needed to reach my goals!

My Short-term Plan ~Things I want to do this year

• Reach Wanikani level 40
  • Pass JLPT N3
  • Talk in Japanese with native speakers at least 2 hours a week
  • Read at least 100 NHK Easy News articles | 20/100
  • Read at least 100 manga chapters | 21/100
  • Read at least 3 light novels/easy books | 0/3
  • Watch and (mostly) understand at least 20 episodes of Anime | 0/20
  • Watch and (mostly) understand at least 10 episodes of Terrace House | 0/10
  • Create a Sentence mining Anki deck and add at least 200 sentences | 25/200

Alright now let’s jump into the methods and resources I will be using everyday to study. :smiley:

Methods/Resources

1) Wanikani
Orginally I made a Wanikani account, did the first radicals lesson once, and stopped…