Level 60 in 414 days

It’s been a good run! I started learning Japanese from scratch back in December 2022. I was back in my home country fresh from a holiday in Hokkaido and Tokyo where I fell in love with the country and felt determined to overcome the language barrier.

It took me a month to get the kana down and I started on WK shortly after. Funnily enough I came across the 3rd party Tsurukame app first, with no idea that it was meant to supplement WK.

I have since fallen in love with the SRS learning style too (autopilot!), and registered for the JLPT to motivate myself to study lol. I passed N4 in July 2023 and N2 in December 2023. The level 46 hiatus came from a 2 week holiday right before my N2 test, and a 1 month hiatus right after.

I had accumulated ~800 reviews when I came back - cleared all of them in 2-3hours whilst stuck in the Yoasobi merch queue, crazy times :))

I returned because I decided to gun for N1 in July, I have one last chance to take JLPT before going to university so I might as well try lol.

I’m also going Osaka in May so I’m pretty excited to return to Japan with my limited speaking proficiency ^^

All the best to those still climbing their way up, enjoy the journey!

48 Likes

Congrats!! Going from zero to N1 in one and a half years is really impressive. You must’ve studied a lot! :smiley:

6 Likes

Congrats on level 60!!
Passing N4 and so shortly after N2 are great achievements too, wow! I’m guessing that your learning Japanese wasn’t only WK? What other resources did you use? Grammar study and or immersion?

8 Likes

Thank you! I’m not at N1 yet, don’t want to get ahead of myself haha. I studied quite a bit yes, couple of hours a day but I didn’t keep track exactly

3 Likes

Wow, this is really impressive. Zero to N2 in little more than a year is no joke! I imagine you invested a lot of time into japanese every single day.

Congrats!

4 Likes